Rated G

September 18, 2011 at 00:22 | Posted in Main dishes, Tried and True | 9 Comments
Tags: , ,

The phrase of the day is:
Some people just need a high five… in the face… with a chair.

That should sum up where I’m coming from over here. I wanted to make something easy and satisfying, so I went with trusty old enchiladas. Because few things smell better than onions sauteeing in butter.

This is one of my favorite recipes. I started making it a few years ago and have been modifying it ever since. The recipe gets its roots here. I found it on my Dinner Spinner App one night while trying to impress my then boyfriend (now husband). Maybe these are magic enchiladas. Maybe, I should write to Glamour and let them know the Engagement Chicken prize has been usurped. Maybe if I get crazy hair and a new attitude, I can have my own cooking show!

Maybe not.

This recipe is super fast and simple because it requires minimal prep work. Just chop some onion and green pepper because everything else comes from a can! You may find that a bit distasteful, but it’s actually tasty. Ask anyone in my office. They all enjoyed them and not just because they were free.

Discrepancies from the movie and the ingredients shown in the movie are:
-I used 2 cans of Rotel even though only 1 is shown in the photo.
-I used 2 cans of enchilada sauce even though only 1 is shown in the photo.
-The tortillas are burrito sized. They are in the photo, but are behind everything else.
-The cream cheese is not shown in the photo at all. It is one of those individual packs of cream cheese.

This movie is one of my first forays into the land of iMovie. For some reason, I feel like I am going to change something about this movie, but I’m not sure what.

Happy cooking everyone!


This is the screen I read when I clicked an email sent to me from YouTube.

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I wonder if these enchiladas possess enough magic to make my husband take the dog out in the morning and let me sleep in on my only day off.

  2. that video was awesome.

  3. I think you need to crib something from here:

  4. I get really impatient when people over explain things, so I loved this quick, visual, on making enchiladas! I totally get it and I totally want to go make them now…stomach is growling.

  5. Looks good I might cook this during the upcoming week…

  6. Tom enjoyed the enchiladas, but my coworker loves any and all forms of free food, so that’s not so hard to believe.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

