36 degrees and windows down

October 8, 2011 at 21:56 | Posted in Desserts, FAIL, Tried and True | 8 Comments
Tags: ,

Having your windows down in the car when it’s slightly above freezing because you’re hot may not be the best plan, but in Alaska it’s like that. I think I may have invited a little cold into my head.

Chocolate chip cookie dough

Cookie dough I made yesterday. It's best to refrigerate it after you make it.

I have lots of things to do but I took a sick day.

Between the sniffles and the dental work, I think this week is ready to end.

I made this cookie dough yesterday with the intent on having some almond flour in the house by now, but the road to all-purpose flour is paved with good intentions. Or something like that. I used the recipe on the package of chips. They’re kind of fun because I used white chocolate chips and regular semi-sweet chips. If the store had had peanut butter chips I would have used those.

Cookies are a little burnt

I burnt these a little because I didn't set a timer. It's part of why I'm a horrible baker.

I can make thumbprint jam cookies really well. I think because those are more like making bread and don’t require such specific measurements. Disappointing. I really like baking in the fall, so there will possibly be a lot of baking in the future.

I’m going to keep trying to make baked goods, but I’m a bad baker. Something about the level measurement of cups and tablespoons doesn’t really click with me. It’s why I’m a better cook than baker. I aspire to delicate french pastry and cookies, braised butter and homemade candy. It’s frustrating. I think I need to take a class.

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Give pâte à choux a try: classic French pastry, very impressive, pretty easy, and not at all intuitive.

  2. Lies! You don’t have to take a class, and you definitely don’t have to use “measuring” implements! (Though I do use a timer, I usually just guess on how long it’s supposed to be in, so that doesn’t really count, either.)

    Cookies especially are easy because you just have to have good-tasting dough to have a successful cookie! I hope you continue to wing it, because it’s way more fun! (Example: http://aforkandabowl.wordpress.com/2011/08/15/confetti-cookies )

    • There’s a timer on the stove. I was distracted and didn’t set it. Nor did I read the appropriate amount of time to bake them off the recipe.

      I did read the suggested temp though, so that’s a step in the right direction.

      Maybe I should stop believing the directions are suggestion.

  3. It’s funny when your actually in the act of baking you never realize how much the smallest mis-measurement will effect the finished product. Even with something as simple as chocolate cookies! 😉

  4. I leave my chocolate chip cookie dough in the refrigerator for 3 days before I bake them (at least 72 hours, 2 days just isn’t enough). It’s magical for the texture of the cookies. I got the idea from this article: http://www.nytimes.com/2008/07/09/dining/09chip.html?pagewanted=all
    I don’t use the cookie recipe from that article, though, because I don’t like making cookies that big. I’ll send you my favorite choc chip cookie recipe if you’d like… the one on the chocolate chip bag is pretty darned good, though.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

