Snow!

October 15, 2011 at 17:25 | Posted in Main dishes | 1 Comment
Tags: ,

I love snow. Fall is in full swing and winter is grazing the surface here in Fairbanks. I’m ready for it. I feel like Starbucks used to bring back fall for me, but now I’m just waiting for snow.

Snowy

It ended up snowing more than this, but this is the better picture of the ones I took.

Doesn’t the snow look pretty? I’m sure I’ll be singing a different tune in a few months. When it’s 3 feet deep.

In honor of the chilly weather I roasted a turkey breast.

It turned out pretty awesome. I used a recipe I discovered last Thanksgiving. It’s super simple and I already had everything in the house. Someday when I grow up, I’ll be Betty Crocker.

So in between doing homework and cleaning my kitchen, as I messed it up again, I basted this bad boy right up.

This is such an easy, easy way to feel good about yourself in the kitchen.

I do want to say that when you open up the thawed turkey, you should do it in the sink, not on the counter, because a turkey was once alive and it will get meat liquid all over and you’ll have to get the Lysol out. Ask me how I know this. Another thing is that I used the apple juice instead of the white wine.

RAW

The look of this can only improve.

After an hour

After an hour in the oven it already looks better.

Makes the turkey moist

Mix up butter, paprika, garlic, thyme and salt'n'pepper.

The turkey takes about 3 hours to get done and then another 15-20 min for the gravy. I’m very happy to have turkey to eat the rest of the week.

Here's what the gravy looks like after heating it with the cornstarch.

Mix it up! Top it off!

Yum

Final product:
Look what I roasted!

Do not attempt this recipe if you don’t own a roasting pan.

Or an oven.

Nothing says fall like holiday food before Halloween.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] got up super early and unwrapped the bird in the sink, for obvious reasons, and threw the damn thing in the oven. This turkey has a leg malformation. Or a skin tag. You can […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

